The leaving of Hamburg

I have been working in Hamburg, Germany for almost two years now, and in a little under two weeks time, I will be leaving for a new job back home in the UK.

Rathaus at night

 

The photograph above is a night shot of  the ‘Rathaus’ (or Town Hall in English), and it really is a beautiful building in the City Centre of Hamburg.

As I have worked away first in Dubai, then in Hamburg for a number of years now, I am looking forward to working back home for the first time in 7 years, and I will have fond memories of both places to keep me occupied as I sit in another traffic jam on the motorways of Britain!

Hamburg is the second city of Germany, and is a very cosmopolitan city, and also a city with a surprising number of canals and park areas.

I will really miss Hamburg when I leave, and even the City’s coat of armsCity coat of armsalways makes me want to photograph it when I see it around town. Maybe because it shares the red and white colours with my football team, Liverpool Football Club, I don’t know, but I think it is a really good looking emblem, and very eye catching.

During my time here in Hamburg, I walked to and from work each day through the City’s Stadtpark. This was a 30 minute walk, and I never ceased to be amazed at how well kept the park was.

It seems that every day the trees were being trimmed, the paths being upgraded, new benches being fitted, and so on.
I decided to undertake a photographic ‘project’ to try and capture the beauty and the changing features of the park over a period of time, and I called this my ‘Stadtpark 200 Project’.

I decided to take on average, two photos each day until I reached 200, and my intention is to prepare a photobook of the results.

I have completed the photography part of the project, and in a short while I will prepare the book itself. Given that I have mentioned it here, I will certainly post some sample shots from the book in future posts, and try and explain a little about the area of the park depicted in the particular photograph.

Looking upAs can be seen from these two shots, there are, I believe, some grand looking trees to see.Sunny StadtparkThe last picture I wanted to include here is an edited shot of the Planetarium in the Stadtpark.IMG_4543This building is illuminated in the evening, and always looks impressive as I pass by.

So, although the leaving of Hamburg is a little sad, albet filled with many happy memories, it is not quite the final chapter in my German adventure…

My wife and I will take a road trip from Hamburg, driving South through Germany, and crossing into Austria, where we will stay for two days before travelling back into Germany to Munich, before flying home.

On the trip, we will visit Münster, Cologne, and then on to the ‘Romantic Road’ (Google it, it is quite remarkable!) and on to Austria.

The trip is planned, hotels booked, car hire sorted, and the views are eagerly awaited.

I have to say it is one of the most eagerly anticipated trips I have undertaken, and I am especially looking forward to a close up look of The Alps.

I will, of course, be blogging about our journey, and hopefully sharing some fantastic views of this beautiful part of the world.

Auf Wiedersehen Hamburg….I will miss you!

3 responses to “The leaving of Hamburg

  1. Beautiful photos; your project was a neat idea. I look forward to reading your posts about Austria. Happy travels!

    • Thanks Erin!
      I really appreciate any feedback, and it is nice to know that there are one or two people out there actually reading my bits and bobs ha ha!
      We leave on our trip on Saturday 25 October, so final preparations are just about complete. I can’t wait!!

  2. No, it is purely a sight seeing trip. I’m so excited about seeing The Alps close up!

Leave a Reply

